Victoria Advocate On-Line

Six selected to all-state volleyball squad
41 area players named to academic TGCA state team

Tuesday, November 25, 2008 Article   |   Shiner Comanche Volleyball   |   Return to Shiner Home Page

cyan line
Shiner seniors Ieisha Flowers and Alyssa Strauss were among six Advocate- area players to be selected to the Texas Girls Coaches Association all-state volleyball team on Monday.

Flowers and Strauss played instrumental roles in helping the Lady Comanches earn their first-ever trip to the UIL state volleyball tournament.

Flowers was named to the state all-tournament team as the Lady Comanches fell to eventual state champion, Windthorst, in the semifinals.

Flowers and Strauss were named to the TGCA Class 1A squad and were joined on the team by Yorktown senior LaRae Wieland and Louise junior Amber Bain.

Selected to the Class 2A squad were Hallettsville seniors Callie Herrington and Kelly Hairell.

It was the second straight year for Flowers, Strauss and Herrington to be named to the squad.

Along with the six selected to the all-state volleyball squad, 41 players, including five Memorial Lady Vipers, were named to the state all-academic team.

Earning the honors for Memorial were Samantha Alvarez, Shaylyn Drozd, Karyl Fowler, Sydney Kuecker and Katie Lytle in Class 5A.

El Campo had six players selected to the Class 4A squad including Meredith Bard, Ashley Brooks, Shelly Cooper, Courtney Janak, Kendra Legler and Lindsey Marik. also selected was Calhoun's Heather Vickery.

The Class 3A team included Yoakum's Megan Carmichael, Sarah Carmichael, Amber Green and Mallorie Schaefer; Palacios' Lori Bumguardner; Edna's Kristen Hermes, Wendy Pierce and Sha'Ray Runnels; and Cuero's Laura Hahn, Emily Reese and Amber Sager.

Herrington and Hairell were joined on the Class 2A academic squad by teammates LaTreece Haynes, Haley Leopold and Kayla Rother. Also named to the Class 2A team were Ali Trojacek of Schulenburg and Kelli Hermes, Sarah Hardee and Jessica Moore of Boling.

Strauss and Wieland were named to the Class 1A team as well. Strauss was joined by teammates Shelby Bernshausen and Amber Shimek, while Wieland was joined by teammates Claire Schendel, Kymber Blaschke and Alexandria Armstrong.

Also selected to the Class 1A squad were Elizabeth Bruns and Shannon Raabe of Flatonia.

Shiner Comanche Volleyball   |   Return to Shiner Home Page


cyan line

This Website brought to you by:

1019 N. Avenue C  •  Shiner, Texas 77984
Phone: (361) 594-4176  •  E-Mail:

BaerCom Design ©  Copyright BaerCom - Shiner, Texas  2008 Website Design by BaerCom