Victoria Advocate On-Line

Repka, Haas named state tournament MVPs
Shiner teammates also named to all-tournament teams

Sunday, June 1, 2008
Coy Slavik - Victoria Advocate Sports Editor Article   |   Shiner Lady Comanche Softball   |   Return to Shiner Home Page

cyan line
click to enlarge photo
Shiner pitcher Heather Haas, left, makes a throw to first Saturday during the Class 1A state championship softball game against Bosqueville. Shiner won 11-1 and Hass was named the 1A tournament MVP. Teammate Amber Shimek, right, was named to the all-tournament team along with five other Lady Comanches.
photos by T.C. Baker, Advocate Staff Photographer
Picking up a win from the pitcherís circle in a state championship game will give you and your team a gold medal. For East Bernardís Courtney Repka and Shinerís Heather Haas, it also gives you the UIL state softball Most Valuable Player award.

Haas, who led the Lady Comanches to an 11-1 win over Bosqueville, was named Class 1Aís tournament MVP after striking out three and limiting the Lady Bulldogs to one run in six innings.

Repka led the Brahmarettes to the Class 2A championship with 13 strikeouts in their 1-0 win over Coahoma. Repka finished the season with a 30-4 record and on a 42 inning scoreless streak.

Shiner was well represented on the all-tournament team with seven players being named. Catcher Holly Haas made the team in her freshman season, while junior infielders Alyssa Strauss, Amber Shimek and Paige Michalec also made the team. Ieisha Flowers and Lauren Michalec earned the recognition from the Shiner outfield.

Along with Repka, Brittney Wilcox, Laura Kubes, Samantha Wasek, Haley Dawson, Cameron Kieler and Anna Giannetti were all-tournament performers in Class 2A.

Dawson scored East Bernardís lone run in the championship on a wild pitch.

Huntington sophomore Carlie Thomas was named Class 3Aís MVP, while Aledoís Whitney Canion took the Class 4A honor. In Class 5A, Amber Anderson of Alvin was named MVP after leading her team to a 4-0 win over Austin Bowie in the championship.

The all-tournament teams were selected by the Texas Girls Coaching Association.

2008 UIL State Softball All-Tournament Teams (As selected by the Texas Girls Coaches Association) Conference 1A Pitcher * Heather Haas Jr. Shiner Catcher Holly Haas Fr. Shiner 1B Loren McCormick Jr. Bosqueville 2B Alyssa Strauss Jr. Shiner 3B Amber Shimek Jr. Shiner SS Paige Michalec Jr. Shiner OF Lauren Michalec Jr. Shiner OF Ieisha Flowers Jr. Shiner OF Michelle Miller Jr. Bosqueville Utility Hannah Bales Fr. Clyde Eula * Denotes Championship Game MVP
Coy Slavik is the sports editor for The Victoria Advocate.
Contact him at 361-574-1206, or by e-mail at

Shiner Lady Comanche Softball   |   Return to Shiner Home Page


cyan line

This Website brought to you by:

1019 N. Avenue C  •  Shiner, Texas 77984
Phone: (361) 594-4176  •  E-Mail:

BaerCom Design ©  Copyright BaerCom - Shiner, Texas  2008 Website Design by BaerCom