Victoria Advocate On-Line

Pustka named Player of Year
Boedeker also honored on TSWA All-State Team

Sunday, July 11, 2004

Victoria Advocate On-Line Article   |   Shiner Comanche Baseball   |   Return to Shiner Home Page

red line
Click to enlarge photo
Garet Pustka, shown pitching in 2002, was named the Class 1A Player of the Year on the TSWA All-State Baseball Team on Saturday.
photo by Victoria Advocate
Garet Pustka compiled a 13-2 record and played one of many key roles in the Shiner Comanches' run to the Class 1A state baseball title and his efforts, as well as his teammates' efforts, did not go unnoticed.

Pustka was named the Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 1A Player of the Year on Saturday, while his coach, Daniel Boedeker garnered Coach of the Year honors.

Pustka finished the year with a 2.00 ERA with 146 strikeouts in 87 2/3 innings as the Comanches compiled a 23-9 record under Boedeker.

Junior first baseman Scott Shimek joined Pustka on the Class 1A all-state first team, while teammates Brady Strauss and Chris Baer were named to the second team. Strauss, a senior, was named as a catcher and Baer, a junior, as an outfielder.

Also joining Pustka and Shimek on the first team was Flatonia senior outfielder Andrew Florus at third base. Florus was also named to the honorable mention team as a pitcher.

Flatonia senior outfielder Cullen Beck was also selected to the third team as an outfielder.

The Class 2A squad was loaded with area talent where Weimar senior Kenn Kasparek earned first-team pitcher honors.

Weimar senior Kyle Mueller was named to the second team as a second baseman, where he was joined on the second team by East Bernard senior Ryan Traweek in the outfield. Traweek also received honorable mention honors as a pitcher.

Receiving third-team recognition were East Bernard junior pitcher Kyle Koenig and senior catcher Forrest Sowell. Koenig also received honorable mention selection as a shortstop.

Karnes City senior Cody Hale received honorable mention selection both as a pitcher and shortstop, while his teammate senior Clay Weston received honors as a catcher. Other honorable mention selections went to Yorktown senior shortstop Brian Dlugosch and Ganado senior outfielder Ryan Bailey.

LaGrange senior pitcher Homer Bailey, who was drafted in the first round of the Major League Baseball draft by the Cincinnati Reds was named the Class 3A player of the year after helping the Leopards claim the 3A state title.

Yoakum junior Riley Boening, who was named the Victoria Advocate's All-Area MVP, was named to the Class 3A second team as a pitcher, while his teammate, junior Travis Starling was named to the third team.

Class 3A honorable mention selections went to Hallettsville junior Dillon Konvicka and Yoakum senior Randy Malik in the outfield, along with Gonzales senior Blaine Hill at third base.

Bay City senior shortstop Scott Elliott rounded out the area selections receiving honorable mention honors on the Class 4A squad.

Corpus Christi Moody pitcher Luis Flores was named the Class 5A player of the year, while Moody coach Corky Gallegos was named the coach of the year.

Shiner Comanche Baseball   |   Return to Shiner Home Page

red line

This Website brought to you by:

P.O. Box 275  •  Shiner, Texas 77984-0275
Phone: (361) 594-4176  •  E-Mail:

BaerCom Design ©  Copyright BaerCom - Shiner, Texas  2004 Website Design by BaerCom