Victoria Advocate On-Line

Four Shiner football players named to all-academic team
Texas High School Coaches Association's
2004-05 Academic All-State Football Team

Thursday, January 7, 2005
Coy Slavik, Advocate Sports Editor Article   |   Shiner Comanche Football   |   Return to Shiner Home Page

red line
Four members of the Shiner Comanches and 38 Advocate area players were named to the Texas High School Coaches Association's 2004-05 Academic All-State Football Team.

Shiner's Chris Baer and Scott Shimek, Louise's Barry Kutac, and Woodsboro's Morgan Lamprecht were selected to the Class 1A first team. Shiner's Jared Boedeker and Kevin Berger, and Louise's Matthew Fiala were picked to the 1A second team and Louise's Jordan Gresham and Craig Wendel earned 1A honorable mention.

The teams were selected by a point system using a player's grade-point average, class rank and SAT or ACT score. Each player must also be a member of his team in good standing and be of good moral character.
click to enlarge photo click to enlarge photo click to enlarge photo click to enlarge photo
Shiner RB/LB Chris Baer Shiner TE/DE/P/K Scott Shimek Shiner RB/LB Jared Boedeker Shiner C/DB Kevin Berger
Other Victoria-area players in larger UIL school classes:

Memorial's John Aimone and Zachary Mitchell earned first-team recognition in Class 5A. The Vipers' Patrick Alvarez, Randle Neuvar, Andrew Hinojosa and Julian Ramos were selected to the second team.

In Class 4A, El Campo's Terrell Woods was chosen to the first team. Selected to the second team were Beeville's Eric Latcham and El Campo's Kyle Gillis. El Campo's Steven Fiala received honorable mention.

Two area players, Gonzales' Nolan Barborak (3A) and Refugio's Chase Linscomb (2A) were named to the elite teams in their respective classes. The elite team members received the highest point total possible.

Yoakum's Travis Starling was named to the Class 3A first team. Making the 3A second team were Cuero's Bryan Weaver, Ross Nigh and Casey Harryman; Edna's Russell Horton; Goliad's Shadrack Elrod and Derek Roberts; and Gonzales Jess Fullilove. Edna's Grant Webernick and Dustin Muncrief; Goliad's Bobby Burnett, Blake Beran, Ross Woods and Julio Doranto; and Gonzales' Kash Greathouse earned 3A honorable mention.

In Class 2A, Ganado's Bradley Salas and Refugio's Dowlbo Bellows were chosen to the first team, while Ganado's B.J. Novak, Robert Lauer and Ross Egg; Refugio's Derrick Sowell; and Schulenburg's Jordan Rehak were named to the second team. Ganado's Andrew Callis received 2A honorable mention.

Coy Slavik is the Sports Editor for The Victoria Advocate.
Contact him at 361-574-1206, or by e-mail at

Shiner Comanche Football   |   Return to Shiner Home Page
red line
The complete 2004-05 Class A Academic All-State Football Team is as follows:
ELITE Marcus Schniers - Miles FIRST TEAM Zane Johnston - Albany Pollart Coates V - Medina Eric Lindstrom - Axtell Brennan Peel - Milano Blake Mendez - Baird Austin Eudy - Petersburg Justin Almaraz - Beckville Evan Cain - Plains Wess Lipka - Center Point Cody Owen - Rice Colton Conner - Christoval Cale Smith - Roscoe Brandon Horton - Cross Plains Presley Gaspar - Rotan Cory Green - Era Matthew Price - Santo Chance Huddleston - Era Chris Baer - Shiner Benjamin Bordorsky - Falls City Scott Shimek - Shiner Colin DeJean - Frost Tyler Haynes - Stratford Jeff Montgomery - Frost Tyler Walker - Tolar Brock Erwin - Gruver Tyler Williamson - Tolar Brad Blanks - Haskell Jordan Nickerson - Valley View Mason Lee - High Island Clint Wheeler - Wellington Adam Spinn - Holland Jeremy Harrison - Wink Eric Lewis - Knox City Jacob Bridgeman - Winters Michael Young - Lometa Jonathan Gaspredes - Wolfe City Barry Kutac - Louise G. Morgan Lamprecht - Woodsboro J. R. Sessions - Wortham SECOND TEAM Brit Hudson - Albany Wesley Straley - Lometa James Roberts - Baird Matthew Fiala - Louise Tillman Davis - Brackett Justin Hoelscher - Miles Oscar Sierra III - Brackett Chris Padilla - Miles Robert Cotton - Celeste Austin Creel - Mt. Enterprise Evan Hindman - Crosbyton Garrett Klemon - Nazareth Thomas Dimitri - Cross Plains Patrick Cotton - Plains Clayton Wiatrek - Falls City Johnathan Bailey - Rice Robbie Tabb - Farwell Jared Boedeker - Shiner Caleb Ballew - Frost Kevin Berger - Shiner Clint Jones - Gorman Josh King - Stratford David Kerlin - Granger Jason Marek - Thrall Tyler Kee - Harper Taylor Allred - Wellington Jayton Lindley - Irion County Justin Perryman - White Deer Bradley Anderle - Lindsay Nathan Lynch - White Deer Jacob Geray - Lindsay Nelson Simpson - Wink Pete Griffin - Winters HONORABLE MENTION Carter Burford - Baird Mark Romero - Lometa John Williams - Beckville Jordan Gresham - Louise Woody Massingill - Brackett Craig Wendel - Louise Arnoldo Lozano - Bruni Dakota Grounds - Mt. Enterprise Brandon Darter - Celeste Casey Bigham - New Deal Garrett Hallman - Christoval Don Rey Hinojosa - Petersburg Epi Balencia - Goldthwaite Payten Bean - Plains Tyler Bohac - Granger Tyler Caffey - Plains Cody Mac Been - Gruver Cody Flores - Plains Ryan Winger - Gruver James Smith - Rice Chance Bollier - Harper Cody Etheredge - Rotan Matt Carter - Irion County Jacob Fuentes - Van Horn Eddie Villarreal - Irion County Ross Wolf - Windthorst Garrett Strickland - Lometa Drew Koetter - Windthorst Jeremy Mendoza - Winters
Texas High School Coaches Association
P.O. Drawer 14627 Austin, TX 78761
Phone: (512) 454-6709 Fax: (512) 454-3950

Shiner Comanche Football   |   Return to Shiner Home Page

red line

This Website brought to you by:

P.O. Box 275  •  Shiner, Texas 77984-0275
Phone: (361) 594-4176  •  E-Mail:

BaerCom Design ©  Copyright BaerCom - Shiner, Texas  2005 Website Design by BaerCom