Shiner Gazette
Shiner well-represented on
30-A All-District teams

Tuesday, December 23, 2003

Shiner Comanche Football   |   Return to Shiner Home Page

purple line
Twelve Shiner Comanches have been selected to the District 30-A All District teams for the 2003 season.

Chris Baer of Shiner was selected MVP and shares the honor with Co-MVP Jim Ed Baugh of Falls City.

Quentin Wright of Shiner was selected as Defensive Player of the Year, while Kurt Kainer of Flatonia is Offensive Player of the Year.

Newcomer of the Year is John Mark Harvey of Charlotte.

Coach of the Year honors went to Mark Kirchhoff of Falls City.

First Team Offense:

Quarterbacks - B.J. Sixto, Falls City (U), Garet Pustka, Shiner

Running Backs - Bubba Castillo, Charlotte; Joe Theis, Falls City; Quentin Wright, Shiner.

Fullbacks - Stephen Creswell, Falls City; A.J. Florus, Flatonia

Wide Receivers - Adam Garcia (U), Charlotte (U); Casey Coleman, Shiner; Galen Dunk, Flatonia; Derek Sturm, Falls City; Brian Salinas, Louise; Gabriel Gutierrez, Runge.

Utility - Steven Evans (U), Shiner

Tight Ends - Todd Wenske, Shiner; Joey Wiatrek, Falls City; Juan Grifaldo, Flatonia.

Center - Kevin Berger, Shiner; Fabian Gutierrez, Runge

Offensive Line - Eric Cantu, Charlotte (U); Clayton McCorkle (U) and Jeremy Burchell (U), both of Shiner; Kory Dzuik (U) and Jeffrey Creswell (U), both of Falls City; Neil Freytag (U), Flatonia

Kicker - Scott Shimek, Shiner.

Receiving second team honors from Shiner were: Chase O'Connor, tight end; and Dustin Brown, offensive line.

Honorable mention selections included Marcus Lopez, offensive line and Nick Evans, wide receiver.

First Team Defense:

Utility - Galen Dunk, Flatonia

Defensive Linemen - Steven Evans (U), Jeremy Burchell, (U), both from Shiner; Jeffrey Creswell and Travis Tessman, both of Falls City.

Defensive Ends - Joey Wiatrek (U) and Jordan Sekula, both of Falls City; Brady Strauss (U) and Scott Shimek, both of Shiner

Outside Linebackers - Stephen Creswell (U), Falls City; Jared Boedeker and Ryan Kloesel, both of Shiner

Inside Linebackers - Gilbert Morales (U), Charlotte; A.J. Florus (U), Flatonia; Fabian Gutierrez (U), Runge.

Secondary - Joe Theis (U), Clayton Wiatrek, both of Falls City; Kurt Kainer (U), Flatonia; Adam Garcia, Charlotte; Casey Coleman, Shiner

Punter - Steven Evans, Shiner

Selected to the second team defense from Shiner was Desmond Brooks, secondary.

Trey Curtis received honorable mention for the defensive secondary.

Shiner Comanche Football   |   Return to Shiner Home Page


purple line

This Website brought to you by:

P.O. Box 275  •  Shiner, Texas 77984-0275
Phone: (361) 594-4176  •  E-Mail:

BaerCom Design ©  Copyright BaerCom - Shiner, Texas  2003 Website Design by BaerCom